Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Jazz
    Member #
    74355
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Denmark
    Tablet
    TF Book T100
    Posts
    60
    Liked
    11 times

    "Not enough memory" problem when using Chrome

    I run constantly out of my 2 Gb RAM memory when using Chrome, with more than 6-7 tabs open.

    I have removed some extensions from Chrome, disabled some programs in "start" , my pagefile is 3 Gb.

    Any ideas?
    Poul

    T100TA DK024H - Z3775 - 64Gb
    ADATA 64Gb mSD
    BIOS 307 - Win10 Pro

  2. #2
    Super Moderator & Spaminator
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    50369
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Europe and Japan
    Tablet
    TF700
    Posts
    784
    Liked
    244 times
    I'm not very surprised.. on my 16GB desktop I constantly run out of memory with Chrome (or Chromium, as it were). It just likes to use as much memory as it can. I'm comparing that to my old Nokia N800, with 128MB of RAM and Firefox.. I could have 15 tabs open on that one. I have no idea what today's browser makers are actually doing. They probably have no idea either.
    On Android I'm currently using Opera for most things. It seems to be less demanding w.r.t. RAM than Chrome or (Android) Firefox, although it doesn't work in non-HTML mode with the latest gmail - it used to, last year.
    Last edited by Tor; 04-01-2019 at 03:14 AM.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    72337
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    USA
    Tablet
    TF Book T100TA
    Posts
    1,804
    Liked
    416 times
    My past experience with Chrome on my T100 was similar to yours. I don't use my T100 for any heavy surfing or computing but my browser of choice on the T100 is MS Edge or Internet Explorer. For my much more capable desktop PC, I've long used Firefox all the way back through its full lineage.
    Rick, loving my T100TA-C1-GR Z3740 64GB Win 10
    BIOS 314. All Windows updates except Bing. All Asus Live Updates. WIFI driver 5.93.99.210
    I get 8-12 hrs use per charge using SLEEP mode. Warning, NEVER calibrate the touchscreen.
    When posting for help, please include Your Model Particulars
    Casters T100 Master Help Guide

  4. #4
    Jazz
    Member #
    74355
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Denmark
    Tablet
    TF Book T100
    Posts
    60
    Liked
    11 times
    I tried IE but that was almost the same and I have 3 computers and a mobile, running Chrome, so I like the syncing and also use about 10 Chrome apps, so I wouldn't want to change browser

    @Rick. Has your T100 win 10 the same problem? It looks like the system tries to keep a lot in memory, but isn't very good at prioritizing, because I can clear some of it with a RAM clearing script I found but with time, the memory again sands up.
    I also have used a suspension app but it's quite irritating.

    I have 64Gb SSD and 128 SD memory, which I hoped could be used for swap memory, it wouldn't be so much slower but more acceptable than the low memory and sometimes shutdown of the browser.
    Last edited by pbekkerh; 04-01-2019 at 12:43 PM.
    Poul

    T100TA DK024H - Z3775 - 64Gb
    ADATA 64Gb mSD
    BIOS 307 - Win10 Pro

 

 

Remove Ads

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Weird Workaround for Shutdown "Memory could not be written" error
    By jakefish in forum T100 (all variants, including Chi) - Windows 10
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-11-2017, 07:06 AM
  2. improper naming of "sdcard" and "removable" causing apps to store to internal memory?
    By TinCanFury in forum Transformer Pad Infinity TF700 (Tegra 3) General Discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 12-14-2012, 07:31 AM
  3. Disabling "Sync with Google Chrome" in stock browser
    By towers1209 in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) General Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-09-2011, 09:52 AM
  4. Who's responsible for calling internal memory "SD CARD"/Getting apps to see MicroSD
    By thenrik in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) General Discussions
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 08-18-2011, 01:52 PM
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:07 AM.