Thread: Strange SD Card behaviour

Soundwave
    Member #
    Tablet
    TF Book T100
    Liked
    1 times

Strange SD Card behaviour

Ok, so before this thread gets merged into the main SD card thread, I believe that this may need a bit of particular attention first.

Now, I bougt a 64gb qumox card on ebay. I have been using this card in the SD slot for some time now, a few months at least, as an additional storage drive.
    Out of nowhere, the laptop starting playing up, it would boot, log in and then go to a black blank screen with just a cursor. I'd try to open task manager and it would just crash, even if I tried to shutdown or restart it would still just hand and not do anything.

After trial and error, I've discovered that the whole issue was down to the 64gb card in the SD slot, as soon as I remove the card, the laptop springs back into life and works a treat.
    The card works fine in every other computer when used in a card reader, even in the T100 USB port it works fine when in a card reader. I've formatted, deleted partitions, re-partioned, NTFS, exFAT, scanned for errors and it's absolutely fine. It just wont work in the SD slot on the computer.

The strange thing about it is that I've used other SD cards in the SD slot, an 8gb and a 16gb sd card, both working fine in the slot. It's just the 64gb wont.

The 64gb installs as 'Generic ncard sd card' whilst the 16gb is 'generic 00000 sd card' and the 8gb is 'generic sd card' so I'm wondering whether it's a driver issue but when the 64gb card is plugged in and I open it in device manager, it just falls over and can't do anything with it. Really annoying!

I've just had to buy another 64gb card from elsewhere as I've got software and games stored on it that I would like to be able to use.
    Any ideas?

Transformer Forums Legend
    Supporting Member

Member #
    Tablet
    TF700
    Liked
    1818 times