Like Tree2Likes
  • 2 Post By mimble

Thread: Asus Transformer Book T100HA installed Linux - now won't boot, no ASUS screen

Soundwave
    Member #
    Tablet
    TF Book T100HA
    Liked
    0 times

Asus Transformer Book T100HA installed Linux - now won't boot, no ASUS screen

Hi,
    I probably did s.th. really stupid to this cute little machine:
    I bought a (used) Asus T100HA last December (64GB/4GB, Windows 10), played a lot with it and got used to Windows (I'm a Mac user by profession). I even created a Windows Recovery USB stick.

I then decided to try to install Chromium OS into it and therefore 1st installed Linux Mint. No problem so far.
    Next I used gparted to create a separate partition for Chromium. So far ev.th. went well. (I probably disabled Secure Boot in its bios.)

My attempts to get a working Chromium via CloudReady all failed. After these attempts Windows wouldn't boot, just returned to command line (sadly I was in a panic and didn't note down what was written THERE…)

So I decided to get back to start, plugged in the recovery usb – but that didn't work either. Actually this made ev.th. worse than before!

Now, when I press power after 12-15 seconds the tablet's LED does no more than blink red-white-red-white-red-white, then 5 times white in quick succession. ***
    Loading the battery works fine (after some time the red LED turns to white).
    All tricks like pressing vol-down + power etc. that I could find in several help sites, iFixit etc. did not help.

The only thing that remains to be tried is to let the battery drain for a few days, then try rickscheller's way:
    "Hold the power button down for 30 seconds and release. Wait 10 seconds.
    Press the power button until you see the white LED next to the camera come on then release the power button."

I am afraid I bricked my T100HA fatally, maybe broke its CMOS chip or ruined its bios settings beyond repair …