Results 1 to 8 of 8
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Rocket_Scientist

Thread: HDMI only works with a specific device

  1. #1
    Soundwave
    Member #
    79940
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Brazil
    Tablet
    TF Book T100TAS
    Posts
    6
    Liked
    0 times

    Question HDMI only works with a specific device

    My T100 HDMI output only works with a specific TV i have, if i try connecting it to ANY other TV, monitor, projector, etc... it does'nt detect anything

    The problem persisted even after reinstalling Windows (both 8.1 and 10)

    Any idea why?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    72337
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    USA
    Tablet
    TF Book T100TA
    Posts
    1,814
    Liked
    417 times
    Quote Originally Posted by luvini View Post
    My T100 HDMI output only works with a specific TV i have, if i try connecting it to ANY other TV, monitor, projector, etc... it does'nt detect anything

    The problem persisted even after reinstalling Windows (both 8.1 and 10)

    Any idea why?
    It could be the HDMI cable you're using? Here's another thread here...
    Micro HDMI does not work
    Last edited by Tor; 06-21-2019 at 11:33 AM. Reason: fixed typo in link
    Rick, loving my T100TA-C1-GR Z3740 64GB Win 10
    BIOS 314. All Windows updates except Bing. All Asus Live Updates. WIFI driver 5.93.99.210
    I get 8-12 hrs use per charge using SLEEP mode. Warning, NEVER calibrate the touchscreen.
    When posting for help, please include Your Model Particulars
    Casters T100 Master Help Guide

  3. #3
    Soundwave
    Member #
    79940
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Brazil
    Tablet
    TF Book T100TAS
    Posts
    6
    Liked
    0 times
    I made a video showing what happens when i connect 5 different devices:

    1- LG 3D TV (The only device where it works)
    2- LG tv
    3- LG old Smart TV
    4- LG Smart TV
    5- LG Smart TV



    on test 3 (LG old Smart TV) the T100 had shutdown when first trying to connect it to the TV and would not turn on unless connected to the charger, after that, it began turning on normally, but now it overheats and the processor speed stays at 0,53Ghz untill i reboot. Also, power consumption used to be around 5W and now it's from 7 to 10W (BatteryBar measurement)
    Last edited by luvini; 06-25-2019 at 12:22 PM.

  4. #4
    Starscream
    Member #
    75952
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Tablet
    TF Book T100TAM
    Posts
    389
    Liked
    71 times
    Try another TV besides LG. Notice how the firmware is different among all yours you tested?
    I have an LG & it defaults to SAP, but only on 1 or 2 channels.
    Asus Transformer T100TAM-C1-GM, Atom Z3775, 2GB-RAM, 64GB eMMC, Win8.1-32 updated to Win10-32
    ASUSTeK Computer Inc. -Support- Drivers and Download T100TAM

  5. #5
    Soundwave
    Member #
    79940
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Brazil
    Tablet
    TF Book T100TAS
    Posts
    6
    Liked
    0 times

    Question

    same results with devices other than LG

    same results with new cable

    however, during testing, the T100 completely froze while HDMI was working on the TV from test 1, while it was frozen, i disconnected it from that TV1 and connected it to the TV2 and it did work, but since it was frozen i couldn't do anything. After rebooting, it was back to the same as before...

  6. #6
    Starscream
    Member #
    75952
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    Florida, USA
    Tablet
    TF Book T100TAM
    Posts
    389
    Liked
    71 times
    Mine does something similar with an external HDMI monitor. Monitor blanks on & off at random times. I no longer waste my time trying to figure out why this thing does what it does. They are considered disposable, like a phone. Asus support is terrible. I will never purchase another Asus product since they refuse to update the BIOS to 64-bit.
    I only use this tablet to perform one specific task. When it dies, it goes to recycle.

    https://www.change.org/p/tablet-make...-trail-tablets
    rickscheller likes this.
    Asus Transformer T100TAM-C1-GM, Atom Z3775, 2GB-RAM, 64GB eMMC, Win8.1-32 updated to Win10-32
    ASUSTeK Computer Inc. -Support- Drivers and Download T100TAM

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    72337
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    USA
    Tablet
    TF Book T100TA
    Posts
    1,814
    Liked
    417 times
    I have no clue. You'd need to know the HDMI versions on those display devices vs the version on the T100. I've seen something similar in the past with an old (circa 2003) Sony 1080P TV not working via HDMI with my T100. I wound up getting a wireless Miracast to HDMI device for that Sony which let me wirelessly display my T100 on the Sony which worked but was not always 100%. I also believe the big name devices also use proprietary HDMI code to insure their devices work with their devices but not necessarily others.

    Also be very careful if you thinks you might try microHDMI (T100 side) to a VGA adapter (monitor side). There are some adapters which will irreparably damage your T100.
    Rick, loving my T100TA-C1-GR Z3740 64GB Win 10
    BIOS 314. All Windows updates except Bing. All Asus Live Updates. WIFI driver 5.93.99.210
    I get 8-12 hrs use per charge using SLEEP mode. Warning, NEVER calibrate the touchscreen.
    When posting for help, please include Your Model Particulars
    Casters T100 Master Help Guide

  8. #8
    Soundwave
    Member #
    79940
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Brazil
    Tablet
    TF Book T100TAS
    Posts
    6
    Liked
    0 times
    i tried the wireless way, but the delay makes it very uncomfortable to use

 

 

Remove Ads

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. No display on screen, HDMI works
    By balz in forum Transformer Prime Help
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 08-31-2014, 03:52 AM
  2. Micro HDMI cable that works
    By droiduser10 in forum Transformer Prime General Discussions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-06-2012, 11:01 AM
  3. black screen but works with hdmi
    By natndeb in forum Transformer Pad 300 Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 08-12-2012, 07:24 PM
  4. TF201 GPS works as navigation device under 20 MPH
    By neneloco in forum Transformer Prime General Discussions
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-27-2012, 10:03 AM
  5. Blank screen - HDMI works.. Help!
    By steve0 in forum Asus Transformer Rescue Squad Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-03-2011, 06:27 AM
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:39 PM.