TF Book T100
    Liked
    13 times

Newbie looking to do Painting and Art on the T100

Model: T100TA
    CPU: Intel A3775
    64 GB
    Win 8.1

So, I see there are threads on styli and Corel Draw that hit on this, but as a newbie I thought a more general thread about using art programs and apps on the T100 might be helpful. Here's my situation: I'm liking my T100 for my own needs, but now I'm thinking about getting something for my wife, the artist in the house, and I'm wondering where to go. So, here are some general questions:
    1) Is the T100 generally serviceable for painting, drawing, that sort of thing, at least at an entry level? (My wife is not an entry-level artist, though, so the programs and apps can't be too basic; but we don't need something that will let us draw frames for Pixar or anything like that).
    1a) From what I gather, a Wacom type stylus is what you need to paint and draw, but some people seem to be frustrated in terms of trying to find such a stylus for the T100. Can you do decent painting/drawing without a Wacom stylus? Or is there a Wacom stylus (or something similar) that works well with the T100?
    2) If so, what programs and apps are the most highly recommended? I think some high quality paint programs might be a good starting point. She may want some graphics design stuff, too (I'm such a bumpkin when it comes to art, I'm not even entirely sure what I'm looking for; sorry).
    3) If not, what devices (tablet or hybrid) would you recommend? Is there an operating system (Windows 8[.1] vs. Android vs. iOS) better suited for the artist working on a tablet/hybrid? The Surface Pro seems to be the first choice, but we don't have much in our budget. How are the Asus Vivo Tab and the Samsung Galaxy Note? I've read that the iPad leaves something to be desired as far as painting/art; is this true? Any other recommendations?
    I realize that this is a cascade of questions. Any advice is appreciated!
    Thanks in advance!