Page 2 of 15 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 12 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 143
Like Tree21Likes

Thread: PREVIOUS 303/304 BIOS versions discussion

  1. #11
    Supporting Member
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    64427
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Tablet
    Too lazy to choose
    Posts
    1,249
    Liked
    291 times
    Quote Originally Posted by dare_v View Post
    Sorry, undocked, I almost never use my tablet docket. Also that power usage is from "idling" in desktop, so maybe there is less difference under load or more? I just dont know how to measure battery life when under load since I did not find suitable benchmark software.
    Good to know. I'd guess its probably more likely idle power savings, but since most devices spend a lot of their time at idle, that should still help out a lot. At a guess its probably idle optimizations for different main board bits. Possibly things like lowering the power state of the micro SD card slot when not in use, or the camera, or USB host or heck, it could even be that the Bay Trail SoC wasn't going in to the proper low power idle state and this is enabling it. Dunno. I could sleuth some of it out...but that sounds like a lot of effort.

    As for a load test, what you could do is download and install handbrake. Then just use one of the default settings in it to re-encode a video and Bob's your uncle.

    Handbrake will load up all the cores to 90+% and its a nice sustained workload. Doesn't have to be a huge file, the Bay Trail chip isn't going to encode very fast.
    Last edited by azazel1024; 03-19-2014 at 12:20 PM.

  2. #12
    Rescue Squad
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    41525
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Tablet
    VivoTab Note 8
    Posts
    981
    Liked
    233 times
    Quote Originally Posted by azazel1024 View Post
    Handbrake will load up all the cores to 90+% and its a nice sustained workload. Doesn't have to be a huge file, the Bay Trail chip isn't going to encode very fast.
    Have you tried using the Quicksync supported profile?

    It's under "H.264 (Intel QSV)" encoder option from the "Video Encoder" dropdown menu on the "Video" tab... Encoding should be a bit better with hardware acceleration...

  3. #13
    Ratchet
    Member #
    63907
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Tablet
    TF Book T100
    Posts
    152
    Liked
    5 times
    Windows Vista, 7 or 8 (64-bit editions only).
    Please note that due to an issue with mp4v2 and the latest GCC, we cannot provide 32-bit builds at this time.

  4. #14
    Supporting Member
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    64427
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Tablet
    Too lazy to choose
    Posts
    1,249
    Liked
    291 times
    It helps, but not much. I haven't tried on my T100. Actually I haven't run handbrake on my T100 at all, but on my i5-3570 running at 4GHz on all 4 cores, I see about a 15-25% improvement in transcoding speed. AFAIK, all that gets offloaded is the decode step. None of the encode is actually supported in Handbrake right now for GPU/QSV offload.

    Of course, I'll take anything I can get.

    On Handbrake 32-bit, that only applies to the latest version supporting quicksync though, right? Older versions certainly support 32-bit.

    At least looking at my typical transcode profile, I am looking at 1080p BR source to 1080p with all the bells and whistles turned on, or 720p and the same. I get around 20-25FPS on 1080->720 on my desktop and around 8-11FPS on 1080p->1080p. So I am thinking that my T100 would be looking more like 1-2FPS 1080p->1080p or 3-5FPS on 1080p->720p with the kind of transcode profile I run.

  5. #15
    Ratchet
    Member #
    63907
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Tablet
    TF Book T100
    Posts
    152
    Liked
    5 times
    I am not sure, 32bit handbrake here and cant find QSV encoder option...with latest beta.

  6. #16
    Soundwave
    Member #
    62821
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Tablet
    TF Book
    Posts
    3
    Liked
    1 times
    Quote Originally Posted by dare_v View Post
    Update was fine.

    I also noticed new wifi drivers, dated 13 march 2014
    Firmware 303 successfully installed on my T100. Working fine, battery life extended: 1% for 10 hours. Wifi drivers updated too - better connection now.

  7. #17
    *Rescue Squad*
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    750
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Georgia
    Tablet
    TF Book T100TA
    Posts
    4,360
    Liked
    912 times
    Quote Originally Posted by sashu View Post
    Firmware 303 successfully installed on my T100. Working fine, battery life extended: 1% for 10 hours. Wifi drivers updated too - better connection now.
    Similar experience here so far.
    OWNER OF ASUS 64GB T100TA w/128GB microSD, and now running Windows 10

  8. #18
    Ratchet
    Member #
    61803
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Tablet
    Other - Windows
    Posts
    118
    Liked
    3 times
    Will go update too then based on your feedback - thanks!

  9. #19
    Ratchet
    Member #
    64483
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    London
    Tablet
    TF Book T100
    Posts
    111
    Liked
    9 times
    i am using the normal asus update uitlity. it says i have only 2.26. Would i need to sequentially update to 2.26, then 2.27 then 3.30 (when available via the update tool). I would have thought i could miss updates but as its showing only 2.26 still perhaps the others are not stable OR released via the update tool.

    I could d/l via the website and flash but prefer to do it the safest way via the utility which has so far served me well.

    thanlks

  10. #20
    *Rescue Squad*
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    750
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Georgia
    Tablet
    TF Book T100TA
    Posts
    4,360
    Liked
    912 times
    Quote Originally Posted by shahali View Post
    i am using the normal asus update uitlity. it says i have only 2.26. Would i need to sequentially update to 2.26, then 2.27 then 3.30 (when available via the update tool). I would have thought i could miss updates but as its showing only 2.26 still perhaps the others are not stable OR released via the update tool.

    I could d/l via the website and flash but prefer to do it the safest way via the utility which has so far served me well.

    thanlks
    Using Winflash....you can update to v3.03 and it will automatically include all preceding/interim updates within that version.
    OWNER OF ASUS 64GB T100TA w/128GB microSD, and now running Windows 10

 

 
Page 2 of 15 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 12 ... LastLast

Remove Ads

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. [GUIDE] Fix Winflash "cannot allocate buffer" error
    By seewhy in forum Asus Transformer Book T100 FAQs, Guides & Tips
    Replies: 44
    Last Post: 07-12-2017, 12:42 AM
  2. PREVIOUS v306 BIOS DISCUSSION THREAD (only)
    By ASUSFAN0001 in forum Asus Transformer Book T100 General Discussions
    Replies: 106
    Last Post: 08-13-2014, 03:27 PM
  3. Warning: flashing BIOS from inside BIOS results in a brick
    By EvilUnicorn in forum Asus Transformer Book T100 General Discussions
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 01-27-2014, 07:40 AM
  4. Previous words on keyboard
    By hawkeye167 in forum Asus Transformer Rescue Squad Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-28-2012, 12:02 AM

Search tags for this page

asus bios 304

,
asus bios t100ta 304
,
asus t100 304
,
asus t100 bios
,

asus t100 bios 304

,
asus t100 bios update 304
,
asus t100ta bios 304
,
asus transformer book t100 bios 304
,
bios
,
bios 304
,
bios 304 t100
,
t100 bios 304
Click on a term to search for related topics.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:00 AM.