Results 1 to 4 of 4
Like Tree4Likes
  • 1 Post By vboyz103
  • 1 Post By markymark
  • 1 Post By FloatingFatMan
  • 1 Post By vboyz103

Thread: [SOLVED] OMG, upgraded to BIOS 220 at last...ERROR: Cannot allocate Buffer

  1. #1
    Jazz
    Member #
    62794
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Tablet
    Other - Windows
    Posts
    53
    Liked
    3 times

    [SOLVED] OMG, upgraded to BIOS 220 at last...ERROR: Cannot allocate Buffer

    So if you've been following this forum, you can trace back my problem with upping from 214 to 220 and I went through total of 2 T100s (yes, I did it again) and 3rd one is a charm. Here's my story and it might be useful to someone like me.

    I can't believe I didn't think about this all along.

    The story:

    Been trying to flash to 220 bios using Winflash and got the "cannot allocate buffer" error all day long. I then went into EZ Flash within bios and flashed there. Results: 2 complete bricked T100s...

    Anyway, here's the thing that made it work (I think) is I FREAKING forgot to remove the SDCARD before flash. Well, here's the success story. After getting the 3rd T100, went back and did this:

    1. Charge it to at least 35% to be sure.
    2. Turn it on, went thru the setup wizard, but I SKIPPED the wifi so that I will just create a local account. In my past experience, if you setup wifi and then win 8 will asked you to login with your outlook.com account and then it might screw things up.
    3. After setting up a local account, went into desktop I IMMEDIATELY disable Windows Updates right away to prevent further modifications done.
    4. After all of that, reboot just to be safe.
    5. Upon reboot, I enable wifi and logged into the local account at this time.
    6. Launch Asus Live Update, download BIOS 220 and off we go.

    Now after 220 is installed, I did a clean install for a brand new fresh start...phew.

    SO LESSON LEARNED:

    Remove the SDCARD before flash. Not sure if it is the root cause but that's what I did differently and it worked this time around.
    Last edited by Swipe; 01-22-2014 at 07:01 PM.
    ilovetofu likes this.

  2. #2
    Ratchet
    Member #
    61525
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Tablet
    Other - Windows
    Posts
    199
    Liked
    22 times
    Glad you were able to get it fixed! However I question if the SD card was the issue. I have flashed both 216 and 220 with an SD card inserted and not had any problems.
    rscheller likes this.

  3. #3
    Ratchet
    Member #
    63342
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Tablet
    TF Book T100
    Posts
    112
    Liked
    12 times
    Agreed. I'm glad the OP got it sorted, but I've not had any issues at all.

    I grabbed the 220 update from Asus website manually though, rather than using their updater program, I also updated the version of Winflash that was preinstalled and copied the update to my C:\ drive first.
    rscheller likes this.

  4. #4
    Jazz
    Member #
    62794
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Tablet
    Other - Windows
    Posts
    53
    Liked
    3 times
    Yeah guys, I am not 100% sure that SDcard was the culprit but that's the one thing I did differently this time around and it worked. Anyway, it worked now and I'm so glad!
    rscheller likes this.

 

 

Remove Ads

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. [SOLVED] Error on my TF700T
    By zXSwordXz in forum Transformer Pad Infinity TF700 (Tegra 3) Help
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-25-2013, 03:23 PM
  2. [SOLVED] first charge error?
    By justhere in forum Transformer Pad Infinity TF700 (Tegra 3) General Discussion
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 07-20-2012, 02:38 AM

Search tags for this page

asus bios 220 install fails
,
asus bios can't allocate buffer
,
asus can not allocate buffer dios
,
asus cannot allocate buffer
,
asus t100 cannot allocate buffer
,
asus winflash cannot allocate buffer
,

asus winflask canot allocate buffer

,
cannot allocate buffer t100 bios
,
cannot/allocate buffer
,
error-cannot allocate buffer entry for thread
,
t100 cannot allocate buffer
,

winflash cannot allocate buffer

Click on a term to search for related topics.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:13 PM.