Results 1 to 7 of 7
Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By zeo
  • 1 Post By al16000

Thread: two more questions keyboard and cut and paste

  1. #1
    Jazz
    Member #
    61612
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Tablet
    Other - Windows
    Posts
    64
    Liked
    1 times

    two more questions keyboard and cut and paste

    1 do they make swipe for windows 8 or something similar built in to the device

    2 how do you get the keyboard to pop up automatic in desktop applications

    3 how do you cut and paste in metro apps like bing news is that possible

    Thank you

  2. #2
    Rescue Squad
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    41525
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Tablet
    VivoTab Note 8
    Posts
    981
    Liked
    233 times
    Quote Originally Posted by sillyrabbitt123 View Post
    1 do they make swipe for windows 8 or something similar built in to the device
    TouchPal...





    Quote Originally Posted by sillyrabbitt123 View Post
    2 how do you get the keyboard to pop up automatic in desktop applications
    I don't know if they fixed this behavior in Windows 8.1 but for Windows 8 MS basically assumes that if you're using the desktop then you're using a physical keyboard and mouse and only need the touch screen keyboard as a option... So instead they left the desktop a manual option, in which you can activate the keyboard and leave its icon on the taskbar and just tap it to open the keyboard when you needed it.

    There are some work around methods though, in case they didn't fix it in 8.1...

    My fix for keyboard popup in "Desktop" mode



    Quote Originally Posted by sillyrabbitt123 View Post
    3 how do you cut and paste in metro apps like bing news is that possible
    You can cut and paste in both environments, main difference is whether you do it with the Keyboard and Mouse or whether you use it with touch, the later being much like how you do it on mobile devices (like a WP8) as there's no right clicking with touch...

    While, you can use snap to have two apps in view at the same time to make cutting and pasting easier as well... with the more power Windows 8 systems and a screen with 2560x1600 or greater resolutions, 8.1 also means you can snap view up to 4 views/apps at the same time and do so for each monitor you have connected.

    You can do a three snap view, though, on a lesser resolution by mixing the desktop with metro apps for a mixed three way view... 8.1 also lets you resize the snap views to make either one larger or smaller as needed...

    There is a intermediate resolution support for a normal 3 snap views that starts at 1600 x 1200 but while the micro HDMI does allow FHD 1920x1080 output on the T100, I'm not sure the height resolution is enough but you can try and see...
    sillyrabbitt123 likes this.

  3. #3
    Jazz
    Member #
    61612
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Tablet
    Other - Windows
    Posts
    64
    Liked
    1 times
    Quote Originally Posted by zeo View Post
    You can cut and paste in both environments, main difference is whether you do it with the Keyboard and Mouse or whether you use it with touch, the later being much like how you do it on mobile devices (like a WP8) as there's no right clicking with touch...

    While, you can use snap to have two apps in view at the same time to make cutting and pasting easier as well... with the more power Windows 8 systems and a screen with 2560x1600 or greater resolutions, 8.1 also means you can snap view up to 4 views/apps at the same time and do so for each monitor you have connected.

    You can do a three snap view, though, on a lesser resolution by mixing the desktop with metro apps for a mixed three way view... 8.1 also lets you resize the snap views to make either one larger or smaller as needed...

    There is a intermediate resolution support for a normal 3 snap views that starts at 1600 x 1200 but while the micro HDMI does allow FHD 1920x1080 output on the T100, I'm not sure the height resolution is enough but you can try and see...
    thanks for all the info. again too technical i dont feel like loading up anything on the machine and messing with it so i will deal with tapping the desktop icon for the kb to popup in desktop mode.


    in terms of cut and paste i was reading something from Bing news app the kb was not attached and there wasnt an option at all to cut and paste from that article not even the url. am i am missing something? just cant figure out how to do it????

    thanks!!!

  4. #4
    Starscream
    Member #
    6271
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    SC
    Tablet
    Other - Windows
    Posts
    270
    Liked
    23 times
    For cut and paste, once you've got what you want selected (varies by application, but something like tap or double tap, or double tap and drag), then just tap and hold on text. It will pop up a copy option.
    sillyrabbitt123 likes this.

  5. #5
    Jazz
    Member #
    61612
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Tablet
    Other - Windows
    Posts
    64
    Liked
    1 times
    Quote Originally Posted by al16000 View Post
    For cut and paste, once you've got what you want selected (varies by application, but something like tap or double tap, or double tap and drag), then just tap and hold on text. It will pop up a copy option.
    got it. don't know what I couldn't get that to work for a long bit. tried it all but I retried it the way you said and boom... it works. thanks!

  6. #6
    Jazz
    Member #
    61612
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Tablet
    Other - Windows
    Posts
    64
    Liked
    1 times
    dont know why i am so silly but... how do without the keyboard rearrange icons pinned to taskbar? i cant seem to get it going.

    thanks for any insight

  7. #7
    Soundwave
    Member #
    61482
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Tablet
    Other - Windows
    Posts
    20
    Liked
    1 times
    Does TouchPal work with Windows 8.1? I can't get it to work at all. I e-mailed the devs too like a week ago, no response.

    I haven't found a solution for the pop-up keyboard in desktop mode. Very annoying issue, can't believe Microsoft can't get this right.

 

 

Remove Ads

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. A few questions about the Keyboard Dock
    By StGermain1977 in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) Help
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 02-14-2013, 05:37 PM
  2. A few dock keyboard questions
    By ldouglas956 in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-06-2012, 03:22 PM
  3. Cut & Paste with no keyboard?
    By lmmohr in forum Transformer Pad Infinity TF700 (Tegra 3) Help
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-30-2012, 08:53 AM
  4. Basic Questions, Dumb Questions, & Even Good Questions for Prime Owners!!
    By 3rdamention in forum Transformer Prime General Discussions
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-08-2012, 12:19 PM
  5. Dock Keyboard Questions
    By doganddawg in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) Accessories
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-10-2011, 07:13 PM

Search tags for this page

asus t100 activate keyboard

,
asus t100 pop up keyboard
,

asus t100 transformer keyboard pop up

,
asus transformer cut paste
,
cut and paste image asus t100
,
how do i copy and paste using my keyboard asus tablet
,

how do i get keyboard to pop up automatically on asus t100

,

how to copy and paste on asus t100

,

how to cut and past on asus t100

,
how to enable the asus t100 desktop keyboard
,
paste screenshot asus t100t
,
rearrange keyboard on asus tablet
Click on a term to search for related topics.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:05 PM.