Like Tree3Likes
  • 3 Post By janner43

Thread: T100 FAQ - Setup, Batteries, Free space, Windows 7/XP, Windows 10...

Guide Guru & Forum Administrator
    Supporting Member

Member #
    Tablet
    Other - Chromebook
    Liked
    2825 times

Lightbulb T100 FAQ - Setup, Batteries, Free space, Windows 7/XP, Windows 10...

You have bought a new Asus T100 & are wondering what to do next.

What is the best way to setup? How do I look after my battery? You don't like Windows 8.1 & want Windows 7 or XP? This thread seeks to answer these frequently asked questions.

How to Setup your T100

I'm no Windows expert, so here is another member's safe & recommended process as quoted by me in one of the many threads that asks this question...

Make sure you charge it for 8 hours before use & then do ALL the setup with the a/c connected. Here is the recommended process...

Quote Originally Posted by dabuthegreat View Post
    Well, what I did was delete Asus Reading Mode, because it's uselees and annoying. disabling adaptive brightness and tweaking screen settings in Intel Control Panel.

• First install all updates from ASUS Live Update (dk about Broadcomm adapter, some people like to skip it)
    • Then install all updates from Windows Update (there's a lot of them and some show only after the previous updates are installed).
    • Then select your C:\ drive, click "manage", then "cleanup", choose "clean system files" and delete what's left from previous Windows Updates (I seriously don't know why it's even there, but it takes couple of gigabytes).
    • Install Office 2013 (optional) and you're good.
    Then, before you do anything else, having read the virus/malware thread in this section & decided which product you will install - install that next & let it do its thing.

Then disconnect the a/c, power off and then power on & enjoy your T100.

Rick covers some other helpful FAQs on the setup, below...

Quote Originally Posted by rickscheller View Post