Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 25
Like Tree18Likes

Thread: Hackintosh anyone?

  1. #11
    Jazz
    Member #
    63212
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Tablet
    Other - Windows
    Posts
    31
    Liked
    2 times
    You could always use VMware Player to run OS X and then you wouldn't really have much issues with hardware.

  2. #12
    Soundwave
    Member #
    63241
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Tablet
    TF Book T100
    Posts
    11
    Liked
    0 times
    So has anybody given it a shot yet? Let us know how it worked out!

  3. #13
    Ratchet
    Member #
    64311
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Tablet
    TF Book T100
    Posts
    215
    Liked
    11 times
    whats the point of a touchscreen laptop if ur not even going to use touch,
    windows 8.1 rules
    rscheller likes this.

  4. #14
    Soundwave
    Member #
    66672
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Tablet
    TF Book T100
    Posts
    3
    Liked
    0 times
    I'm gonna try to do this in the next week or so and see what I can come up with. It would be nice to get osx on here for emergency usage. I found one post where someone installed clover in a pen drive and the t100 booted it. So there is at least a bridge.

  5. #15
    Jazz
    Member #
    63212
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Tablet
    Other - Windows
    Posts
    31
    Liked
    2 times
    I tried it in VMware Player. Didn't work. "CPU has been disabled by the guest operating system."
    Then I remembered that OS X doesn't support Atom and needs a custom kernel with Atom support. I've heard of such a custom kernel, but I don't know if any exists with Bay Trail Atom support.

    I just found this:
    10.9 Ivy Bridge-E, Atom & Lapic Fix Kernel - OSx86.net Hackintosh
    I might try this sometime.

  6. #16
    Soundwave
    Member #
    63836
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Tablet
    TF Book T100
    Posts
    13
    Liked
    2 times
    it is way to early to ask about using t100 as a hackintosh or to install android.

    Intel is just releasing the sdk for baytrail, so give it some time.

  7. #17
    Soundwave
    Member #
    65431
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Tablet
    TF Book T100
    Posts
    9
    Liked
    3 times
    ASUS Hardware - Model: T100TA-C1-GR, CPU: Z3740, HDD: 64GB eMMC

  8. #18
    Super Moderator
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    72337
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    USA
    Tablet
    TF Book T100TA
    Posts
    1,812
    Liked
    417 times
    Quote Originally Posted by SQeek View Post
    Interesting... any "Mikeys" out there willing to try it? If you don't know what that means, look it up.
    Rick, loving my T100TA-C1-GR Z3740 64GB Win 10
    BIOS 314. All Windows updates except Bing. All Asus Live Updates. WIFI driver 5.93.99.210
    I get 8-12 hrs use per charge using SLEEP mode. Warning, NEVER calibrate the touchscreen.
    When posting for help, please include Your Model Particulars
    Casters T100 Master Help Guide

  9. #19
    Soundwave
    Member #
    78788
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Tablet
    TF Book T100
    Posts
    2
    Liked
    0 times
    Start your computer and remove any extra internal hard drives and discrete graphics card your ASUS Transformer Book T100TA-C1-GR has . Because Mac OS X is probably going to have varies of problems with discrete graphics cards when you start the process.

    4. Build your motherboard’s BIOS
    To your motherboard, BIOS is a basic setting page. To enter the BIOS on ASUS Transformer Book T100TA-C1-GR, you have to press the delete key while it boots.

    If your ASUS Transformer Book T100TA-C1-GR has the system of Mac OS X Snow Leopard, Lion, or Mountain Lion fixed before, the only thing you need to do is the “Boot Device” in the BIOS, so that USB drives have the biggest priority.
    It's so fake...

  10. #20
    Soundwave
    Member #
    31580
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Tablet
    Researching Tablets
    Posts
    3
    Liked
    4 times
    Just realized this thread was here and wanted to chime in.

    I have a spare T100TAM that I have been tinkering with.... different OS's and such. Gonna use it as a spare diagnostic system for IT, networks and pen tests.

    I can confirm that you can use a 64-bit Mac OS X operating system on it using VMware. I have done it (with Mountain Lion and Mavericks) and installed the VMware Guest Tools. Performance is surprisingly good, even though I am limited with the amount of RAM I can allocate to it.

    If you want, I was planning on making a video showing how to do it, and how it performs.

    My hardware setup:
    Asus T100TAM - Gray Metal (T100TAM-C1-GM)
    Intel Atom Z3775 - Bay Trail-T - Quad-core @ 1.46GHz (Turbo up to 2.39GHz)
    2GB DDR3 RAM
    64GB SSD
    Keyboard Dock (non-HDD version)

    My software setup:
    Windows 10 Home (32-bit) .... clean upgrade from Windows 8.1 (32-bit)
    VMware Workstation 10 (32-bit) ..... v10 is the last version that works with 32-bit OS's
    - VM of Mac OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion (64-bit)
    - VM of Mac OS X 10.9 Mavericks (64-bit)
    - VMware Guest OS Tools installed in both "OS X" VMs to get best performance (as opposed to bad emulation lag)
    - all VMs set to 1 cpu, 4 cores, 1.2GB RAM, USB devices auto connect to Guest OS

    What works in 64-bit OS X Guest OS:
    -pretty much everything afaik
    -web browsing and internet (since VM network is set to NAT)
    -app store, icloud
    -resolution changes dynamically to fit window
    -install any OS X programs (32-bit and 64-bit)
    -webcam works (if you enable the VM to use your Host system's camera.
    -audio is perfect
    -video playback is fine (tested 720p playback with no issues)
    -any USB device connected

    VMware (and other VM software, like VirtualBox) can install 64-bit Guest OS's in 32-bit Host OS's because of the visualization (VT-x) of the CPU is enabled on my ASUS T100. This was my first try doing that just, to see if it works, and it did. All of my other computers have native 64-bit Host OS's, so it wasn't an issue to install a 64-bit Guest OS on those systems. Just never thought about installing a 64-bit OS in a 32-bit OS environment.

    If you're interested, I will post the video review of OS X (64-bit) on the ASUS T100 later.
    Last edited by eyeoncomputers; 10-26-2015 at 04:07 PM.
    janner43 likes this.

 

 
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Remove Ads

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Search tags for this page

asus t100 hackintosh

,
asus t100 osx
,

asus transformer hackintosh

,

bay trail hackintosh

,

hackintosh asus t100

,
hackintosh bay trail
,
hackintosh t100
,
osx asus t100
,
t100 hackintosh
,
t100 osx
,
t100ta hackintosh
,
t100ta mac
Click on a term to search for related topics.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:27 PM.