Results 1 to 8 of 8
Like Tree3Likes
  • 2 Post By scottmac99
  • 1 Post By rscheller

Thread: T100TA and GPS

  1. #1
    Soundwave
    Member #
    65059
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Tablet
    TF Book T100
    Posts
    4
    Liked
    2 times

    T100TA and GPS

    I've installed a BU-353S4 USB GPS which I know is working, via the GPSinfo utility on my desktop that comes on the installation CD.

    But I can't set anything that tells the computer to use the GPS. The option under 'Privacy/Location' that says "Let Windows and apps use my location' is greyed out and doesn't do anything. I have the correct baud rate etc for the USB driver set properly, i.e. to what the manual for the GPS says it should be.

    Can anyone suggest how I might get my T100TA to recognise that there is a GPS device attached, and to take some notice of it? Is it possible to connect via Bluetooth, for example? [I've tried it, but the BU-353S4 doesn't seem to be broadcasting any sort of bluetooth signal, at least not one that the T100TA can see.]

    [I'm travelling in France in a month's time, and was planning to use Here Maps (which I have already installed) to navigate without needing 3/4G nor WIFI nor indeed any sort of connection to the outside world .... except to GPS, so that I know where I am on the map.]

  2. #2
    rscheller
    Guest
    I suggest going here USGlobalsat Corporate and downloading and installing the Windows driver for your device.

  3. #3
    Soundwave
    Member #
    65059
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Tablet
    TF Book T100
    Posts
    4
    Liked
    2 times
    Thanks Rick ... they say they have a windows 8 driver which I have now downloaded but not yet installed, but the release notes only say it's for any version of windows _other_ than 8. Still, I'll give it a try.

    Looooove this computer btw. It's brilliant :-)

    Scott

  4. #4
    Soundwave
    Member #
    65059
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Tablet
    TF Book T100
    Posts
    4
    Liked
    2 times
    Sorted ! I wound up emailing Support at USGlobalsat who replied within about 30 minutes (unbelievable). What with their advice, and bit more fiddling around, here's what I did:

    . Installed the latest Prolific driver from http://www.prolific.com.tw/UserFiles...ler_v1_9_0.zip (although that probably wasn't necessary, version on the USGlobalsat website is 1.8.0)
    . In <Control Panel> <Location settings> I switched on "Turn on windows location platform"
    . That seemed to fix <Change PC settings> <Privacy> <Location> so that "Let Windows and apps use my location" is not not greyed out and is switched on
    . It also seemed to fix <Permissions> in the Here Maps app so that "Allow this app to access your location" is also switched on
    - Mind you, it only says "This app has permission to use: Your home or work networks; Your Internet connection" i.e. with no mention of GPS
    . I ran the 'gps7x2.exe' from Welcome to GPSDirect and GPSReverse GPS NMEA Windows 7 Windows 8 Sensor Driver iOS Android TCP (big thank you Global Sat for this pointer) and followed the instructions.

    Voila !!
    rscheller and UltraNetbook like this.

  5. #5
    Jazz
    Member #
    65352
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Tablet
    TF Book T100
    Posts
    38
    Liked
    2 times
    is it possible to use gps data from phone thru bluetooth or cable?
    T100 - the way to go

  6. #6
    rscheller
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by ajay67 View Post
    is it possible to use gps data from phone thru bluetooth or cable?
    Yes? No? Maybe? What kind of phone?

  7. #7
    Jazz
    Member #
    65352
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Tablet
    TF Book T100
    Posts
    38
    Liked
    2 times
    Quote Originally Posted by rscheller View Post
    Yes? No? Maybe? What kind of phone?
    samsung android
    T100 - the way to go

  8. #8
    rscheller
    Guest
    If it's a fairly recent Samsung Android phone, I believe you can do what you want.

    You'll need to do some research for Android apps that allow your phone to share its GPS coordinates and then allow them to pass over a bluetooth link with your T100 running a mapping app.

    Let us know if you get something working and how you did it.
    Swipe likes this.

 

 

Remove Ads

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. My T100TA error
    By ilikemumble in forum Asus Transformer Book T100 General Discussions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-04-2014, 07:32 AM
  2. Confusion after t100ta bad experience
    By aatkco in forum Transformer Pad 300 General Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-23-2013, 05:19 AM
  3. Picture of the T100TA internals
    By Maine_Coon in forum Asus Transformer Book T100 General Discussions
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12-15-2013, 08:20 PM
  4. T100ta-c110
    By scossey in forum Asus Transformer Book T100 General Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-29-2013, 08:30 AM
  5. T100TA-B1-GR Questions
    By dapm in forum Asus Transformer Book T100 General Discussions
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 11-18-2013, 02:17 PM

Search tags for this page

asus t100 gps

,

asus t100ta gps

,

asus transformer book t100 gps

,
asus transformer book t100ta gps
,
asus transformer t100 gps
,
does asus t100 have gps
,
does the asus t100 have gps
,
gps and here maps
,
gps asus t100
,
gps on asus t100
,
t100 gps
,
t100ta gps
Click on a term to search for related topics.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:52 AM.