Soundwave
    Member #
    Tablet
    MeMO Pad 10
    Liked
    0 times

Cool New User intro and request for thoughts on wireless issue

Hi all,

My handle is a play on a character from Monty Python's "Life of Brian." You can call me Rich if you like.

It's nice to find a forum devoted to this model. I picked up my first 301T from ebay and fell 'in like' with it right away. I ended up getting 3 more for family member and I have 2 more for parts on the way. I'm a systems engineer by trade and have been taking apart and fixing/hax0ring my devices as long as I can remember. I just picked up a proper solder station with a heat gun so I can do component level swaps on my pads.

So what I'm getting at here is I'm willing and able to act as "guinea pig" to some extent with this model, particularly when it comes to hardware mods, although I'm certainly not averse to, and will actively be doing software/firmwar/bootloader mods. I've rooted more android devices than I can remember, run custom mods like cyanogen, and generally all around like to tinker with them, break them, fix them, cannibalize them, and especially trick them out so they do things that get oohs and ahhs and jealous stares from regular users because their pad won't do that.

So if there's a mod of some sort you want to try out but are afraid of bricking your device, I'm probably your guy.

Now on to a current issue I'm having that I could use some advice on:

I picked up a 301 really cheap from ebay "as-is" because it wouldn't power on figuring that at least I could use the digitizer/screen and/or other parts as spares. Turns out, the battery was just dead dead dead. So dead that even plugging in a 2A charger wouldn't let the pad power on. However, after I let it charge for a while, I'llBeDamned if it didn't power up and work.

The only real problem I seem to have with it is that the wireless is totally flaky.