Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Rooted Access

  1. #1
    Soundwave
    Member #
    33697
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Tablet
    SL101
    Posts
    16
    Liked
    0 times

    Rooted Access

    Having installed a backup utility from google play it advises that some features require root access. I am familiar with what this is within the linux world (and the dangers thereof), however how do I get root access with my slider?

  2. #2
    Bumblebee
    Member #
    16239
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Tablet
    TF101
    Posts
    2,966
    Liked
    392 times
    If you search the forums you should find some detailed instructions on it. I believe this LINK should give you a bit of insight into it. It behaves very much like Linux in what it does, it just behaves a little different as to how it asks for permission. Pretty straight forward, but will void your warranty.
    TF101! - Running Domination built on my beautiful ArchLinux box!
    Samsung Galaxy S4 - Stock Sadly...
    Custom Built Desktop - Intel I7 w/ Windows7 & ArchLinux Dual boot - Go LINUX!
    I firmly believe that any man's finest hour, the greatest fulfillment of all that he holds dear, is that moment when he has worked his heart out in a good cause and lies exhausted on the field of battle - victorious. - Vince Lombardi

    Great Help Guide Here -> Frederucos Fantastical Forum Favorites
    And Here -> Master Help Guide

  3. #3
    TRANSFORMER FORUMS LEGEND
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    2978
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    /EARTH/USA/NC/
    Tablet
    None
    Posts
    15,780
    Liked
    2676 times
    Depending on what version of firmware you have installed you may need to use a different root tool than razorclaw.

    I believe the ViperMod/NachoRoot are the latest successful methods.


    Asus Transformer 16 GB & Dock - Munching on Jelly Beans
    crApple iP*one 5 - Stock

    Just once I want someone to call me Sir without adding you're making a scene.
    - Homer Jay Simpson

  4. #4
    Soundwave
    Member #
    33697
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Tablet
    SL101
    Posts
    16
    Liked
    0 times
    Quote Originally Posted by kazmax View Post
    Having installed a backup utility from google play it advises that some features require root access. I am familiar with what this is within the linux world (and the dangers thereof), however how do I get root access with my slider?
    Thanks for that. In fact I hadn't considered the warranty question at all so thanks for bringing that to my attention.

    My need for root access isn't great enough to be persuasive for me to start voiding warranty, so I'll give this a graceful bodyswerve for the time being.

  5. #5
    TRANSFORMER FORUMS LEGEND
    Supporting Member

    Member #
    2978
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    /EARTH/USA/NC/
    Tablet
    None
    Posts
    15,780
    Liked
    2676 times
    Also, ASUS includes a backup utility called "App Backup" that should be pre-installed if you need to back up your applications or data.

    You cannot have backups over 600 MB, but you can do multiple backups if you have more.


    Asus Transformer 16 GB & Dock - Munching on Jelly Beans
    crApple iP*one 5 - Stock

    Just once I want someone to call me Sir without adding you're making a scene.
    - Homer Jay Simpson

  6. #6
    Soundwave
    Member #
    33697
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Tablet
    SL101
    Posts
    16
    Liked
    0 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Frederuco View Post
    Also, ASUS includes a backup utility called "App Backup" that should be pre-installed if you need to back up your applications or data.

    You cannot have backups over 600 MB, but you can do multiple backups if you have more.
    I have that installed, and it works well. It could be improved upon in two ways. Firstly, it would be good if it would remember data or data+application setting. Secondly, if it could be scheduled so that it does an automatic backup each day/week (and also automatically deleted older backups).

 

 

Remove Ads

Sponsored Links

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. New ICS Rooted ROM
    By AceAPH in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) Development
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 05-20-2012, 05:19 AM
  2. New ICS Rooted ROM
    By AceAPH in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) General Discussions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-10-2012, 01:51 PM
  3. How to become rooted
    By Newbie in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) General Discussions
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-10-2011, 07:16 AM

Search tags for this page

how doi get root access on my asus

,

rooted access

,

rooted access??

,

tf101 ics root

Click on a term to search for related topics.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.3
Copyright © 2020 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:41 AM.