Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Soundwave
    Member #
    5813
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    5
    Liked
    0 times

    Problems configuring Splashtop to access work PC via 'Internet discovery'

    I have been unable to connect my TF to my work PC running Splashtop Streamer and the updated version of MyCloud.

    Not surprisingly, the work PC is on a wired network behind a firewall.

    I was able to connect the TF to the work computer using Wyse Pocketcloud. It was basically idiotproof. But the desktop app rearranged icons on my screen.

    I've been hopeful that the latest versions of Splashtop with internet discovery enabled would allow me to use it as an alternative (I've also tried out LogMeIn and Teamviewer).

    But so far, I've had no luck.

    Anyone have suggestions? The desktop version of streamer says my Google login was successful. I also believe I have the google account info properly configured on the TF (although I must admit I do have more than one account, so maybe the TF version of Splashtop (in MyCloud) is not smart enough?

    Thanks in advance.
    Deanovt



  2. #2
    Jazz
    Member #
    1604
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    37
    Liked
    9 times
    I use PhoneMyPC. Setup is pretty painless and will try to connect over LAN and if that fails over WAN. I also can install the client on multiple machines (not sure about the other programs) and then connect to any of then when I launch the app. Works flawlessly so far, including access to both displays on my work computer with dual monitors. Work is also behind a Barracuda firewall and PhoneMyPC works just fine. Also, it's only $15.

    Market Link

  3. #3
    Soundwave
    Member #
    5813
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    5
    Liked
    0 times
    Quote Originally Posted by jeggen View Post
    I use PhoneMyPC. Setup is pretty painless and will try to connect over LAN and if that fails over WAN. I also can install the client on multiple machines (not sure about the other programs) and then connect to any of then when I launch the app. Works flawlessly so far, including access to both displays on my work computer with dual monitors. Work is also behind a Barracuda firewall and PhoneMyPC works just fine. Also, it's only $15.

    Market Link
    Thanks for the tip. I'll consider PhoneMyPC (even though I'd like to know why Splashtop doesn't work as advertised).

  4. #4
    Soundwave
    Member #
    985
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    2
    Liked
    0 times
    Quote Originally Posted by deanovermont View Post
    I have been unable to connect my TF to my work PC running Splashtop Streamer and the updated version of MyCloud.

    Not surprisingly, the work PC is on a wired network behind a firewall.

    I was able to connect the TF to the work computer using Wyse Pocketcloud. It was basically idiotproof. But the desktop app rearranged icons on my screen.

    I've been hopeful that the latest versions of Splashtop with internet discovery enabled would allow me to use it as an alternative (I've also tried out LogMeIn and Teamviewer).

    But so far, I've had no luck.

    Anyone have suggestions? The desktop version of streamer says my Google login was successful. I also believe I have the google account info properly configured on the TF (although I must admit I do have more than one account, so maybe the TF version of Splashtop (in MyCloud) is not smart enough?

    Thanks in advance.
    Deanovt
    From what i understand they have not yet integrated the google internet discovery part into the android app, thats what i thought i read anyways, Because i was having alot of trouble with this too. But i figured out to get it to work you have to run the streamer on the desktop you want it to connect to. Then allow your router/modem to allow those ports to connect to your computer (I set my pc to a DMZ which allows anything to connect). And then connect to the IP address Shown on the streamer). Kinda annoying not having the internet discovery up but I believe you have to have the ports enabled regardless. Took alot of trial and error

 

 

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Transformer but no internet access!
    By brittwitty in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) Help
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 07-26-2011, 08:20 PM
  2. Problems configuring Splashtop to access work PC via 'Internet discovery'
    By deanovermont in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) Help
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-26-2011, 11:53 AM
  3. Transformer but no internet access!
    By brittwitty in forum New Member Introduction & Site Assistance
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-23-2011, 09:43 PM
  4. access to internet
    By ewinkler in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) General Discussions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-22-2011, 04:04 PM
  5. Can't obtain internet access from wireless network?
    By stefan in forum Asus Transformer (TF101) General Discussions
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 07-22-2011, 01:54 PM

Search tags for this page

asus internet discovery
,
how to configure splash top to access over internet
,
internet discovery splashtop
,

splashtop behind firewall

,

splashtop firewall

,
splashtop firewall settings
,

splashtop internet discovery

,
splashtop over internet
,

splashtop streamer firewall

,
splashtop streamer firewall ports
,
splashtop streamer internet discovery
,

splashtop unable to connect

Click on a term to search for related topics.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0
Copyright © 2014 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:13 PM.